Draconic Verses Hosting #TCMParty Twice in June!

3dTCMPartyGreetings, Friends and Fiends!

Ye Olde Dragon here, letting you know that it will be my honor to guest host a #TCMParty on TWO separate occasions in June!

The first will take place on Thursday, June 18, during TCM‘s Bugging out marathon.
Here’s a full schedule of the night’s movies:

8:00 PM – THE FLY (1958)
9:45 PM – MOTHRA (1962)
11:45 PM – THEM! (1954)
1:30 AM – THE WASP WOMAN (1959)
2:45 AM – THE SWARM (1978)
4:45 AM – THE COSMIC MONSTERS (1958)

I’ll be hosting the party for two of these films on this night. Those would be Ishiro Honda‘s MOTHRA and Gordon DouglasTHEM!  No doubt as many of you know, THEM! Is one of my most favorite Monster Movies (in fact, I’m watching it as I write this). It also holds a special place in my heart, as it was one of the first movies that I enjoyed with the folks who would go on to form both the #TCMParty and the #DriveInMob. This was one of those movies shown on Thursdays in June of 2011, as part of TCM’s Double Feature Drive-In. That’s where it all began for the wonderful Tweet-a-longs we now enjoy.

By a happy coincidence, this night happens to fall on a Thursday which is the regular night that the #DriveInMob gets together. Because of this, both groups will be participating!

For this special evening, I propose that we use the very first hashtag that we utilized back in 2011 – the fabled #TCMDriveIn, so as to save character space in our tweets.

I do hope that you will join us as we “Bug out“, starting at 9:45 PM Eastern Daylight Time!

mothra-US-1Sthem

dragondivider1

The second evening that I will be guest hosting, will be on Sunday, June 28 beginning at 8:00 PM Eastern Daylight Time. We’ll be watching a Kaiju double feature! At 8:00 PM, we’ll be watching Ishiro Honda’s MONSTER ZERO (1970), followed at 10:00 PM by Honda and Terry Morse‘s GODZILLA, KING OF THE MONSTERS (1956). Please note that these are both the United States release versions. In fact, MONSTER ZERO is listed on TCM‘s schedule as GODZILLA VS. MONSTER ZERO, which was the designated title for home-video release. I truly wish that these were the Japanese versions being shown, but it’s also special in the fact that TCM is presenting them as part of their Movie Camp (i.e. summer camp), formerly known as Essentials, Jr. The fact that they’re included is very encouraging, as this programming is aimed at introducing young film fans to new movies.

Personally, I like the thought that this showing of MONSTER ZERO could be some young viewer’s first Godzilla movie experience. Why? Because it was my first Godzilla movie. My dad thought I might like it, so he let me stay up late to watch it one Saturday night on WPIX Channel 11’s Chiller Theater. I haven’t been the same since.

I hope you’ll join us for the fun!

 monster-zero-1SG-KOTM

…End of Line

2 comments

Leave a Reply

