Draconic Viewings: My 2014 at the Movies

draconicviewings1Greetings, Friends and Fiends! Ye Olde Dragon here, winding down the year that was 2014. Because of my financial situation (or lack there of, more aptly), my annual theater-going is somewhat limited. This year, I got to go and see five out of the six new movies I wanted to see. The one movie that I didn’t get to see that I really had wanted to, was Disney‘s BIG HERO 6. Hopefully I’ll catch it when it’s released on home video. So, what did I actually see? Well to be sure, the only movies that I actually go out to see any more tend to be Fantasy or Science-Fiction, be it animated or live-action. Were I able to, I would more than likely try to catch classic movies in special theatrical releases as I’m not all that enthusiastic about modern so-called horror movies, comedies that turn out to be not terribly funny and overly dramatic dramas. Nor am I interested in seeing any part of THE HUNGER GAMES, or as I call it, the puerile successor in mediocrity to TWILIGHT. But, getting back to what I actually did manage to go see – I’m sure it will come as no surprise to most of you – Here they are, in order of release:

1) CAPTAIN AMERICA- THE WINTER SOLDIER Cap2-Winter 2) GODZILLA godzilla-2014-a 3) HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2 HTTYD2 4) GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Guardians 5) THE HOBBIT – THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES Hobbit-BOT5ANow, some of you may be wondering why other movies aren’t on my list. The plain and simple truth is: I had no desire whatsoever to see AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 2, ROBOCOP, TRANSFORMERS: AGE OF EXTINCTION or X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST. I had no faith in any of these franchises and from what I understand, I was completely justified. This is also why I didn’t bother seeing either of the two HERCULES movies. They looked like they were only going to be going over anything that’s been already covered, or substituting Hercules for characters previously played (I’m looking at you Dwayne “Scorpion King” Johnson). There were one or two others that I had an interest in seeing, but it really came down to a simple choice of what I wanted to spend my limited funds to see. You see, I knew that I would enjoy the five movies listed above, beyond a shadow of a doubt. I couldn’t say that for MALEFICENT, DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES, EDGE OF TOMORROW or even THE LEGO MOVIE.

Well, we have quite a few movies to look forward to (though I am fast to admit at a mild sadness to there being no more films journeying to Middle-earth). First up will be SEVENTH SON from Legendary. I’ve been waiting for his movie since the first trailer ran in 2013, accompanying PACIFIC RIM! Of course, we have two films from Marvel – the eagerly anticipated (promising to be world-changing) AVENGERS – THE AGE OF ULTRON, followed months later by the long-beleaguered ANT-MAN, which closes PHASE II of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. There’s also JURASSIC WORLD, stampeding from Legendary, a MINIONS movie and THE PEANUTS MOVIE which sees Charlie Brown & the Gang being rendered in CGI for the first time. Oh there IS another film coming out roughly a year from now. The Seventh installment of some little franchise from the 70s and 80s, Star Conflict or something like that.

Happy New Year’s Friends & Fiends!

Leave a Reply

