The Future of Draconic Verses

I’ve been doing a little self-exploration lately and trying to re-evaluate my outlook on a lot of things. I need to zero in on my POV a bit more. I decided to start off with a basic re-design of several base elements. The Draconic Verses’ mascot, Fred the Dragon, even got an upgrade. A wise man once said that design never stands still. I had failed to remember that.

No longer.

At heart, I’m still that 13 year old boy that was introduced to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien by the Rankin-Bass animated version of The Hobbit in 1977, which truly changed the course of my life.

I’m still that 11 year old whose Dad let him stay up late to watch Monster Zero on a 12″ B&W portable TV, on a Saturday night Chiller Theatre, introducing me to Godzilla movies & the wider world of monster movies.

I’m still the same kid whose uncle brought him a grocery store bag (we’re talking the old, brown PAPER bags, 18″-24″ tall) filled to the TOP with comic books, when I got my tonsils out. Before you youngsters have a cardiac incident, this was back in the day when comics were only 12 cents, starting to go to 15 cents & 25 cents got you a ‘king-size’ comic (like annuals).

I’m still the same kid that used to watch John Wayne movies, Mets baseball games and Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea with his grandfather.

I’m still the same kid who watched MGM musicals with, and was taken to Disney movies every week in the summer by, his grandmother.

I’m even the same kid who got scolded in second grade for filling his sketch pad with nothing but drawings of Gigantor.

I’m still all of that. It’s what makes me who and what I am.

That being said, previously, I’d intended to make this blog an outlet for my stream of consciousness. I haven’t done that at all. That’s part of the reason why I re-wrote my ‘About’ page. Another part is to try to better define that elusive POV.

In the past, I’ve tried to be current on some content, from trying (and failing) to review the first month of DC Comics’ New 52, to doing reviews of the end of Young Justice and the beginning of Avengers Assemble, to trying to do breaking news. I’ve come to realize that there are a lot of blogs and websites dedicated to these and they have the personnel and the time to do it all. I simply do not. I’ve given myself a few headaches trying to keep ‘new’ information timely, even to the point of it interfering with posting things that I like writing about, such as remembering the dearly departed of genre films & TV, or looking back at when certain genre movies were released or even reviews of DVDs of fun, old movies. Because of time limitations and the need to be timely in ‘current’ events I’ve decided to forgo any future attempts and focus more on nostalgia, which is a lot easier to write about than the latest craze. With nostalgia, you can be a little more relaxed, because it’s still there. In this day of instant gratification of newsworthy items, there are others far better suited to that task than I.

So here’s what I won’t be doing from now on: no more reviews or ‘spoilers’ for comics. When DC spoils them in advance, why bother? If something major happens in the world of comics, I might post my opinion on it – especially if it’s something that I HATE; no new movie reviews or news – unless again, it’s something major. My reactions to these will mostly be on twitter, but if I have more to say, I’ll tweet a link to a longer post here. There’s so many covering this, why add one more.

My focus from here on out will be 90% Imagi-Movie related, admittedly with more ‘love’ thrown at monster movies (both foreign & domestic). I’m going to get back to DVD reviews for great old movies, beginning with a few that I owe. I will still post Sirki’s Summons & Movie Release Anniversaries. I will still post Imagi-Movie schedules for TCM. I will post about a lot more nostalgia too, pertaining to genre TV shows (including cartoons, naturally) and the occasional old comic and even some more peeks at parts of my varied collections. I hope you’ll stick around.

I know I will.

2 comments

  1. I’ll never forget the Rankin-Bass animated version of The Hobbit. I spent all day drawing Bilbo, getting every detail just right. I was so proud of it that I made the mistake of showing it to some friends during class. The teacher confiscated it “until the end of class”. When I got it back, there was a ringed coffee stain across my masterpiece. I was crushed.
    I can’t remember the teacher’s name, but the 1977 classic is still one of my favorites. Cause and effect? Perhaps.
    Be true to yourself. What’s new today will be nostalgia tomorrow. You’ll have an endless supply of material to select from. And I’ll keep reading.

Leave a Reply

