SPOILER ALERT! Justice League of America’s Vibe #1

spoiler_alert1

Vibe1cover

* BE WARNED! *

THERE ARE SPOILERS AHEAD FOR JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA’S VIBE ISSUE #1. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ IT YET AND WISH TO BE SURPRISED,
TURN BACK NOW!!!

orn_ks02

Well, after much ado from DC & Geoff Johns’ assurance that readers will like it, Justice League of America’s Vibe #1 came out. I must say that I had my doubts, due to the infamous, checkered past of the pre-New52 incarnation of Vibe. It certainly is an all-new variant of the character’s powers, and I’ll give it a fair chance – for now. But this isn’t a review, just pointing a few things out. First of all, as already revealed by DC themselves, A.R.G.U.S. seemingly has Darkseid’s daughter imprisoned. But my moment(s) take place on the 2 page spread immediately preceding that revelation. It’s the individuals in their ‘detention vault’ that are so…interesting. But we’re not even sure how/why they’re in there. Are they merely other metas who could affect/sense/traverse dimensions, or  are they visitors from parallel worlds? They were not so clear on that (at least to me). Now, looking at the spread :

Vibe1

The first, most obvious ‘Wow’ moment is in fact the subject named ‘Gypsy’. As most fans of the pre-Flashpoint era should know, a teammate of the original Vibe was named Gypsy, who was the sole survivor of the new characters created for ‘JLA Detroit’ (Vibe and Steel were both killed by Prof. Ivo). Her powers were always evolving, up to the point of including a limited teleportation, and being able to phase/become invisible based on vibrations. Now as for the one which REALLY blew me away, was THIS one:

pariahSurely I cannot be the only person to have caught this one. Unless I miss my guess, that’s PARIAH, of Crisis On Infinite Earths fame. Which is interesting, as the Pariah of New Earth (Pre-Flashpoint DC Earth) is dead, and as such was brought back as a Black Lantern during Blackest Night. So is this another universe’s Pariah who ended up here, or the New52’s homegrown version. Was this just an “Easter egg” for sharp eyed fans, or is there a purpose for this character. I’ve found that you can never discount anything included in a Geoff Johns story. Time will tell, I imagine. Especially with Multiversity on the horizon.

As I said, I’m giving Vibe a chance. For now. Any thoughts /opinions on these observations? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

