Let’s Get The Wonderful World of Brothers Grimm on DVD Already!!

 

DigitalDen1

Though the official anniversary is not until August, this year marks the FIFTIETH anniversary of the release of George Pal’s THE WONDERFUL WORLD OF THE BROTHERS GRIMM (1962). It was released in the oft maligned Cinerama format, which was basically 3 screens – two of which, one on the left and one on the right, were curved around the sides of the theatre to give a full perspective feel. Unlike other attempts in the format, George Pal filmed it on one camera, and the prints were modified. The previous attempts at the format used THREE cameras and the screens had to be synced up. I can’t even imagine the nightmares a non digital projectionist had trying to DO that.

At any rate, There was a laser disk release quite a few years ago, but it was not the full screen image and was missing several parts, such as the brief prologue, the overture, intermission and entr’acte. The version that’s aired on TCM has all of those back, PLUS the full image, but the sides are a little warped, because those parts were never intended to be seen ‘straight on’. I KNOW there’s software that can easily fix that distortion. So let’s PLEASE see this come out this year.

It’s fairly common knowledge that I’m a huge fan of George Pal’s work. He was a pioneer of the outer space science fiction film, inspiring many. DESTINATION MOON (1950) was creating a huge buzz when it was being made, with mainstream articles in many magazines and TV interviews. His CONQUEST OF SPACE (1955) featured a funeral in outer space. Gene Roddenberry stated on film (THE FANTASY FILM WORLDS OF GEORGE PAL (1985)) that Director Nicholas Meyer was inspired by that scene when he planned Spock’s funeral scene in STAR TREK II: THE WRATH OF KHAN (1982).

His fantasy films are wonderful as well. I’ve already reviewed 7 FACES OF DR. LAO (1964) and tom thumb (1958) here. They’ll soon be joined by reviews of DOC SAVAGE, THE MAN OF BRONZE (1974) and ATLANTIS THE LOST CONTINENT (1961).

We have most of his work on DVD, but currently, BROTHERS GRIMM has NEVER been released on DVD and THE NAKED JUNGLE (1954) and WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE (1951) are both out of print from Paramount at this time.  Considering that CONQUEST OF SPACE was released nearly at the same time as NAKED JUNGLE (also from Paramount), I wouldn’t be surprised if it was soon out of print as well.

So can we find out if we can get all of George Pal’s work out there for all to enjoy?

15 comments

  1. I want to see The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm on dvd so I can add it to my collection and even better blu ray!

  2. I heard the LP dialogue soundtrack before I saw the film. Then I saw the film for the first time on TV in black-and-white (UK) in the early 1970s. I knew I had to see the movie in the cinema. I bided my time, and eventually it came up as a one-day showing in the late 1970s. Yes, this is a COLOUR movie that SHOULD be released on DVD. It was obviously a major film when first released, and though it may have fallen from grace compared to later efforts of this kind, it’s a fun movie with fine performances and pre-CGI effects which were considerably more difficult to do. By today’s standards, it’s a puppet show from behind the settee rather than the puppet theatre. But who cares? It’s a “history” lesson in itself! Wonderful!! Wonderful!! Wonderful!!

  3. I can’t believe this movie isn’t on dvd already! I watched this as a kid and we taped it on the classic old vcr but I have been looking out for it for a long time. Very dissapointed!!

    • I recently made another post about not having a release for the 50th anniversary earlier this month, & I share your disappointment. Thanks for the feedback.

  4. I grew up listening to the vinyl album. Something my children and grand children know nothing about. The stories are priceless and need to handed down generation by generation. Please some one bring it back.

  5. I would buy DVD in a heartbeat. I saw it in the theater. GREAT I also saw it once on TV, half way through. I want it in my collection.

  6. All who have replied to “Let’s get the Wonderful World of Brothers Grimm on DVD” are “Wonderful People!” I would love to have it. Brings back such memories! I think I was 6! I go on Youtube and watch little excerpts! LOL Only makes me want it that much more. So Magical! It is timeless…

  7. This movie was a classic and I originally saw it in san francisco’s surround cinama theatre. what a beautiful movie to see on three screens surrounding the audience. would love to own it on Blu-ray or even standard DVD.

  8. Please…everyone go to change.org and sign the petition for Warner Brothers to get this title out on Blu Ray or at least DVD. It is general knowledge that the original elements were water damaged back in the day. However, I find it hard to believe that a decent print does not exist somewhere! WBs is not getting the message!

    • First of all, thanks to all who’ve responded.
      I can’t believe that a year later, this post is still drawing replies.
      Jack – can you provide a link to the petition you mentioned? I searched change.org & found no petition using the search terms Bros Grimm, Brothers Grimm, the full film title or even Warner Brothers/Warner Bros.

  9. I have almost all the VHS, DVD and more tha 1000 collections of Yvette Mimieux. The only one missing is a Blueray or DVD of the Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm. I have been collecting clippings audio, books anything about Yvette Mimieiux from Weena…Clara, Lily Sloan etcetera. I am an avid admirer of Yvette Mimieu since 1959….like Trouble at Sixteen, The Clown, Where the Boys are Diamondd Head, Valentino, Skyjacked and many many more. Thank you to all of you guys ad we should keep on petitioning to have this famous Cinerama Film into Blue-ray or DVD. Thank you.

  10. I also remember seeing this as a child and it brought back fond memories watching it again. I would buy this dvd without a second thought….if it got released 🙂

  11. I just showed my grandson the VHS but, of course, it won’t play after Jacob falls ill and dreams all of the wonderful fairytales but, at least he got to see the elves and the dragon!

Leave a Reply

