My 100th Blog Post

This entry marks my one hundredth blog post, since I started The Draconic Verses back on April 23, by ‘Welcoming you to the madness”.

WOW. Has it already been 8 months? A lot’s happened since then.

I’m doing better, health-wise, though there’s still a way to go.

I’ve made some wonderful & fun friends via Twitter, of all things, and began having movie fun with the #DriveInMob & #TCMParty crowds.

The cat population of my house increased to four just over 9 weeks ago, when my Mom & I rescued 2 abandoned 4 week old kittens that I named Frodo & Sam.

I’ve begun reviewing DVDs, especially thru the kind support & encouragement of @WarnerArchives.

Jose Reyes left the Mets for the Miami Marlins. I don’t have a problem with that, actually, as putting faith in his keeping his legs healthy for SIX years was too much of a longshot to blow a fortune on.

DC Comics pulled an historic, unprecedented move by restarting ALL their hero titles from a new number one issue – The New 52. With the new number one issues came a re-started universe, complete with revised origins & new costumes for all. It was anticipated with a LOT of mixed views, and some proved to be somewhat valid.  Four issues have been released so far, but there are chinks in the armor showing, as there’s already instability brewing in the creative teams on the books.

George Lucas made the HORRID decision to YET AGAIN meddle with Star Wars when it was released for Blu-Ray earlier this year. It flew around the Twitter-verse at the speed of light when we found he’d added an audio track of Darth Vader yeling, “Nooooooo!” as he grabbed the Emperor as Palpatine was about to kill Luke.

I did my first voice over work ever, when I contributed a small bit for The AfterMovieDiner Podcast.

I did my first freelance Web design work in quite some time, when I designed a header for Monster Island Resort’s Horrible Imaginings Film Festival.

I was fortunate enough to land a gig doing a cover for a wonderful book coming out next year. (Hello, Annette!)

I managed to win a few Twitter contests, netting a tablet for the Wii with a game, A Valiant Comics tee-shirt, A deluxe Looney Tunes Blu-Ray set (though I do not yet own a Blu-Ray player), an Indiana Jones Xmas Ornament (courtesy of the generosity of @SantaIsThinking) and I FINALLY got an elusive Collectible Mimobot flash drive, after trying to win one for over a year and a half, starting at San Diego Comic Con 2010! I chose the Wampa from Empire Strikes Back.

The biggest change, has been the utter realization that there was no way to continue my beloved Kingdom of DragonWynde as a semi-LARP group, but even more so, the decision to go back and write my story the way I’d first envisioned it, now that my imagination was no longer ‘encumbered’ by the limitations of a physical incarnation’s dynamic. I’d set a goal, last New Year’s, to have the first novel (of my projected 4 book arc) complete by the end of this year. I was very disappointed in myself, until I realized that due to the amount of background and setting that was being re-done made that an unrealistic demand I’d self-imposed. My conscience is clear now, as far as the book is concerned, but my resolve is even more robust than ever before.

I’ve also managed to zone back in on my creative muse, as witnessed by some of my more recent 3D pieces and the header up top of this page and the Christmas-themed header just prior to it. There will definitely be art pieces mixed in with the written portion of the book, so I have a feeling that 2012 may turn out to be my most creative year in quite some time. I hope at least some of you will stay tuned in for the ride. I hope you’ll like what you’ll see.

But now on to the post itself.

So…what is it to be? I’ve actually been a bit remiss in my blogging the last week or so. Though I managed to crank out two variations on 12 Days of Christmas, I’ve missed a few opportunities for a 100th post caliber entry. I missed the anniversary of the Japanese releases of BOTH Monster Zero AND Ghidorah, the Three Headed Monster. I also thought about doing an entry about the fact that December 20th would have been my grandfather’s 100th birthday (a few days later than the birthday, so I decided to forgo it, seeing as how I DID commemorate it on the 20th in a salutatory Tweet). So, what will it be? It’s about this:

Earlier today, the new class of the films preserved in the National Film Registry by the Library of Congress was announced. The number one film that was announced was Forrest Gump. That’s fine. It was a great film. Chaplin’s first feature, THE KID, was also included. Also, well deserved. What most interested ME, though, among these 25 films, was none other than a George Pal film – the 1953 version of H.G. Wells’ WAR OF THE WORLDS. Well done, Mr. Pal. Hopefully we shall see a full-blown restoration of it in the near future.

So there it is. Post # 100. A long time coming, and finally here. Thank you to all who’ve stopped by and read The Draconic Verses these last 8 months. Thanks even more to those who’ve taken the time to post some comments along the way. It is greatly appreciated. Post # 101 won’t be to far off. Good night.

2 comments

    • Hey, thanks, Rick. Glad you’ve liked it. Considering your own work at Classic Film & TV Cafe, I take that as a very high compliment. I’ll do my best to live up to it.

Leave a Reply

